Discover the greatest people of art, literature, science and fashion. Michelangelo

I would like to invite you on another journey of mine- to discover the greatest people of art, literature, science and fashion

All works which I want to show you are mixed-media. I combined wax, fabric, wire, metal and used a canvas both as base and background.

1. “Michelangelo” – mixed-media on canvas.

Michelangelo Michelangelo

MichelangeloMichelangelo

Michelangelo (Michelangelo di Lodovico Buonarroti Simoni) (1475 – 1564) – sculptor, painter, architect, poet, engineer; Italy, Florence, Rome, Vatican; High Renaissance epoch.

Michelangelo for me always was and always will be an indescribable, inconceivable, mystifying figure. First time I read about him I was fifteen years old. It was a brilliant novel written in 1907 by a French author Romain Rolland “Life of Michelangelo”.

Many years later I tried to read and to learn more about him, but in the end I got more questions than answers. I realize now that no one can tell you more about Michelangelo than Michelangelo himself. I mean of course his sculptures, his paintings, his drawings and his architectural projects.

Though many conflicting opinions and theories exist regarding his life, the only unquestionable and undeniable truth is the power of Michelangelo’s artistic genius which can be seen and felt in every work of his.

 “I have struggled more than any man ever has,

in bad health and with greatest labour, and still

I remain patient in order to reach the desired goal.”

Michelangelo

The art work: “Michelangelo” – mixed-media on canvas

Created: 2013

Material: sculpted wax, fabric (velvet and silk), wire

Doll’s height: 28,5 cm

Size: 20”x 26”

© Text and visuals created by IRINA GORELKINA

2 thoughts on “Discover the greatest people of art, literature, science and fashion. Michelangelo

Leave a Reply

